Sign In Forgot Password

Daf Shevu'i--The Daily Page (of Talmud)

Upcoming Sessions

1. Thursday, August 16, 2018 • 5 Elul 5778

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

2. Thursday, August 23, 2018 • 12 Elul 5778

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

3. Thursday, August 30, 2018 • 19 Elul 5778

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

4. Thursday, September 6, 2018 • 26 Elul 5778

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

5. Thursday, September 13, 2018 • 4 Tishrei 5779

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

6. Thursday, September 20, 2018 • 11 Tishrei 5779

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR

7. Thursday, September 27, 2018 • 18 Tishrei 5779

9:15 AM - 10:15 AMOSR
Past Sessions
Thursday, August 9, 2018 • 28 Av 5778 - 9:15 AM - 10:15 AM - OSR
Thursday, August 2, 2018 • 21 Av 5778 - 9:15 AM - 10:15 AM - OSR

Nazir is a tractate of the Talmud that deals religious zeal bordering on extremism. The Nazirite was one who took a vow to abstain from certain foods (e.g., refraining from grape products) and pleasures, over and above the prohibitions that would fall on an ordinary Jew. What moves people to treat themselves as such? Why is asceticism connected to God? Why was Judaism uncomfortable with such behaviors, even though it permitted such behaviors? What does Nazir teach us about religious extremism today and how we might understand it better? Daf Shevu’i, the Weekly Page,” goes through a page of Talmud a week. The program is open to Midway members and non-members. A working knowledge of Hebrew is helpful but not at all necessary to follow the class which is conducted primarily in English. Discussion is always energetic and relevant to our day, in spite of material that is well over 2500 years old.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, August 15 2018 4 Elul 5778