Sign In Forgot Password

MJC SISTERHOOD 2021-2022

There are so many reasons to be a part of our wonderful Sisterhood.  Whether you are looking for fun social activities, educational and cultural experiences, a place to share fundraising ideas, or searching for personal Jewish growth, Sisterhood is for you! 

At Midway Jewish Center, Sisterhood endeavors to use the proceeds of all our events and fundraisers in three ways:   

  • To benefit and enhance our beautiful synagogue. 

  • To support other Jewish Women’s Organizations whose mission statements are in sync with our own. 

  • To support and further our dedication to Israel. 

Dear Midway Sisterhood Family,

I am so excited to be continuing as Sisterhood President.  Please feel free send me an email at mjcshpres@gmail.com or text 516-468-1692 with questions, suggestions, or to introduce yourself if you are a new member.  

We invite you join us at our upcoming events, which are currently planned to be conducted both in person and via Zoom (login credentials provided after RSVP):

Secrets of the Shanghai Ghetto, Tuesday, February 1, 7:00 p.m. via Zoom

Hybrid Art Auction, Saturday, March 5, 7:00 p.m. at Midway AND via Zoom

Rolling Hamantaschen, Tuesday, March 8, (two sessions: afternoon & evening)

Sisterhood Shabbat B'Yachad, Friday, April 1, 6:00 p.m.

Yom Ha'Atzmaut Celebration, Monday, May 1, 7:00 p.m.

Sun Safety, Tuesday, May 17, 7:00PM

Shavuot Shenanigans (a.k.a. Game Night), Thursday, June 2, 6:30 p.m.

Monthly Book Club - at this time, we continue to meet via Zoom. 

Thursday, January 20: The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

Thursday, February 17: The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead

Tuesday, March 15:  The Rose Code by Kate Quinn

Tuesday, April 19: American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins

Tuesday, May 17: The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Thursday, June 16: A Woman of No Importance by Sonia Purnell

Thursday, July 21: Carnegie's Maid by Marie Benedict

Thursday, August 18: The Yellow Wife by Sadega Johnson

Thursday, September 22: The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Thursday, October 20: The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel

Thursday, November 17:  The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare

Thursday, December 15: Eli's Promise by Ronald H. Balson

Of course, if you’d like to become even more involved with Sisterhood, we’d love to have you join our Board. Our meeting are held in the evening, once a month. If you're not yet a member, click here for our membership form.

  Our Sisterhood is a proud member of the BQLI region of Women’s League for Conservative Judaism

Teri Fields -- Sisterhood Strong!

Tue, January 25 2022 23 Shevat 5782